tofu tacos

Today I made something yum!! I made tofu tacos. There’s more information on my Instagram, but here’s the recipe.

Fiesta Tofu
Serves 4

Ingredients

1 block of extra firm tofu
1/2 large red bell pepper, diced
1/2 large green bell pepper, diced
Kernels from 1 ear of cooked corn
1 15-ounce can low-sodium black beans
1/2 teaspoon cumin
2 teaspoons reduced-sodium taco seasoning
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 lime, juiced
2 tablespoons cilantro
Pepper to taste

Directions

    1. Drain the tofu by wrapping the block in a paper towel and putting some weight on top (such as a coffee cup filled with water) for about 10 minutes.
    2. Cut the tofu block in small 1/2- to 1-inch squares. Season with pepper as desired.
    3. In a grill pan or iron clad pan, cook the tofu squares on medium-high heat. Stir and flip to allow browning on all sides. Once done, set aside.
    4. In a pan, mix the black beans, corn, taco seasoning, garlic powder and cumin. Cook for about 5 to 7 minutes, mixing to combine ingredients well.
    5. Add the green and red bell pepper and cook for another 3 minutes or as desired for texture.
    6. Add the cooked tofu to the mix and cook for another minute or two. Remove from heat. Add the cilantro and lime juice.

Super yum & super easy! I’ll add a picture below.

I’ve been worried lately about not getting everything done, but I’ve been thinking about how I need to make what is already in my hands a priority. For example, I already have to responsibility of working on online classes and spending time with my family. If 99% of my brain is on “the next step” that’s not healthy!!! Maybe 45% is the max amount. For the next week, I’m committing to thinking about the present for at least 55% of my brain space.

 

3 Happy Things: (what I’m loving rn)

  1. tofu
  2. black coffee! (I say this every day, but I really really am thankful for it)
  3. dairy-free caramel coffee fudge ice cream!

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kaibruntmyer/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/kainicholee

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kai.bruntmyer.1

GoFundMe: https://www.gofundme.com/ywam-newcastle-staff 

Leave a Reply

