sinking deep

This morning I woke up with the song “sinking deep” by Hillsong playing in my head. Well, it didn’t start out that way. The workers started hammering at the floor at 7 AM, so I was a little grumpy as I got out of bed, but after a few minutes of prayer and grouching at God, he quickly turned my prideful, privileged mind around.

I’m listening to the song in my headphones right now because it’s so loud, and I just passed a line that said “I’m wide awake, drawing close, stirred by grace.” Maybe the wide awake part is why I have it stuck in my head this morning.

This song reminds me of worship at Hillsong. I miss worshiping with people who don’t care about other people around them. When I first encountered worship where people weren’t standing still holding their hymnals, I was honestly in shock. What were these people doing, dancing around the room and raising their hands and jumping up and down? We were in a holy place, for crying out loud! But literally, that’s what they were doing. They were crying out loud. They were crying to God and making worship all about him and not about the singer or how fast the drummer was going. They were just lost in worshiping their savior.

When I worship, I close my eyes and pretend like I’m in front of my Father worshiping him and thanking him for everything. I pretend like I’m singing the song to him and I don’t worry about harmonizing with the person next to me (which is hard for a southern baptist!!). And the best part is, I don’t have to pretend! I am at the feet of the Father worshiping.

Many times when I’ve been lost in worship, God’s given me a picture of rolling hills FULL of people who are all singing his praises. And I’m on the hills with all the believers singing his praises. I think when we get there we won’t be worried about harmonizing or about what the person next to us thinks. I think we’ll just be busy worshiping our King.

So why not start now?

Revelation 4:8-11 is a great picture of what worship will look like when we get to heaven. It says, “Each of the four living creatures had six wings and was covered with eyes all around, even under its wings. Day and night they never stop saying: “ ‘Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty,’who was, and is, and is to come.” Whenever the living creatures give glory, honor and thanks to him who sits on the throne and who lives for ever and ever, the twenty-four elders fall down before him who sits on the throne and worship him who lives for ever and ever. They lay their crowns before the throne and say: “You are worthy, our Lord and God, to receive glory and honor and power, for you created all things, and by your will they were created and have their being.””

I know that’s a hefty piece of scripture, but hello!? The 24 elders aren’t looking at each other wondering what the next elder is thinking! They’re not worried about if their voice is going to crack! They’re so lost in the presence of God that NOTHING ELSE MATTERS.

Today, I’m going to commit to not worrying what people think about me when I’m worshiping God. And not just when we’re singing at church. You can bring glory to him there but also in so many other way! When we’re doing what we enjoy, we can always bring the focus back to him. Today I’m not going to worry about what people think when I worship my King. Would you do the same?


3 Happy Things: (what I’m loving rn)

  1. early mornings
  2. support!!! (received more financial support this morning YAY)
  3. Hillsong worship

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kaibruntmyer/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/kainicholee

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kai.bruntmyer.1

GoFundMe: https://www.gofundme.com/ywam-newcastle-staff 

Leave a Reply

