stress

Here I am, Monday morning. Hit me with your best shot. Okay, actually don’t.

Today I’m headed to Houston to drive my dad to meet with some people and hopefully I’ll get to see one of my friends from high school.

While I like to be at home, my travel is one of my passions and I’m always looking forward to the next trip (i.e. Canada). Even though Houston isn’t that far away, it’s still fun to see new places and try new things.

I’ll confess, the past few days, I’ve been struggling with being in Abilene.

As much as I love the people here, sometimes I just feel trapped and stuck in the same few square feet that I’m always in. I love everyone I’ve met in Abilene, but I don’t have any close friends or people that I can be real with.

Yesterday evening after getting the week’s itinerary from my dad, instead of going straight back home, I took a walk around Hardin-Simmons.

The sun was setting, and it was beyond beautiful (I’ll include a picture). I sat on the bleachers of the stadium and poured out my heart to God. I’ve talked about being in my season of waiting, and while I’m waiting, I’ve been working on a few God-inspired projects. I told God that while I felt like he had given me his “okay” for these projects, I felt like I wasn’t seeing any breakthrough and all I was feeling was stress.

I couldn’t sleep because I was so stressed about things, so I made a list of my goals and did some quick calculations. I felt a little better, but this morning I woke up and drank a cup of coffee and the stress headache is still there.

While I didn’t get any immediate resolution, I’m reminded of Matthew 11: 28-30, “Are you tired? Worn out? Come to me…Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it…I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” (MSG)

Isn’t that so great?

While I’m sitting here stressed about the things I feel like he’s placed in my hands, he doesn’t want me to be burdened by it. He wants me to remain in him and “live freely”. He’ll help me with my goals and might even replace mine with his (scary thought, but we’ll work on that later).

I’m excited to do life with God. Sometimes I worry and stress out, but he’s got me.


3 Happy Things: (what I’m loving rn)

  1. Hillsong podcast (listening to it right now!!!!)
  2. early mornings
  3. muffins

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kaibruntmyer/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/kainicholee

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kai.bruntmyer.1

 

Leave a Reply

