canada baby

Less than a week ago, I booked my flights to Canada for my friend Steph’s wedding. Her fiance Jeff is also my friend, but I love Steph more. (Sorry if you’re reading this Jeff!!) I’m so so excited to see my friend marry the love of her life, but I’m also excited to see all my friends from YWAM again.

So in 1 month and 28 days, I’ll hop on a plane, grab some ginger ale, and listen to my downloaded podcasts all the way from DFW to Saskatoon.

My favorite part of traveling in the people that I meet along the way. While I’m no Todd White, it’s still fun to talk to the person next to you about where they’re headed. I’ve found myself many times talking to people in terminals listening to their life story and seeing little glimpses of how God is in pursuit of their hearts just as much as he is in pursuit of mine.

I’ll never forget the guy I met in the terminal before I got on my first flight headed to Australia. There was only one outlet in our terminal, and I needed to charge my phone after going through security, but at that point in my life I was scared to be bold and talk to people (hard to believe, right?). I sat down next to him and plugged in, and he started talking to me.

“Where are you headed?” He asked. I’ve always seen this question as an opportunity so I launched into the story of how I decided to go to a Discipleship Training School in Australia and he told me about how he was a screenwriter headed to LA in search of work. He let me read one of his works about an old west cowboy, and then it was time to board our flight.

I didn’t see him get off of the plane, and I haven’t really thought about him since, but every time I think about Mason, I pray for him. I could have been the only person that day who asked him questions about himself, or even one of the first people to read his script.

And to think I almost didn’t go charge my phone because I was “too scared to talk to people”. I think it’s so funny how God uses our weaknesses to bring himself glory, hey? It reminds me of 1 Corinthians 12:9-13, “…and then he told me, My grace is enough; it’s all you need. My strength comes into its own in your weakness…Now, I just let Christ take over! And so the weaker I get, the stronger I become.” (MSG) 

I can’t wait to get to the airport again and meet some new people and exchange stories. And the best part is, talking with and meeting new people isn’t just for airports.. it’s for everywhere!


3 Happy Things: (what I’m loving rn)

  1. CANADA BABY
  2. Old skool vans
  3. Pinterest (I’ve always loved it I just forgot for a few months)

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kaibruntmyer/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/kainicholee

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kai.bruntmyer.1

Leave a Reply

